BSG III?

In my blogs I have mentioned the new Battlestar Galactica series a few times, with its beautifully drawn characters, the varied and engrossing plot that was everything that Sci Fi should be, and the unexpected twists.  Honestly, if I could ever create anything that clever and real in my writing I would happily retire knowing I would never be able to top it.

So when I bring up this next topic, please keep in mind where I am coming from – a place of deep respect and awe for the universe.  A few days ago I learned that the same person who created the original series will come out with a reboot movie next year.  I admit, I’m starved for BSG.  I devoured the soap opera Caprica series, I saw some potential in the prequel movie Blood and Chrome, and I have been waiting for someone to say they have managed a script that lives up to the series for a movie or even a miniseries.  I would love to see the surviving players back for another hurrah!

But to go from the gold that was the BSG cast and backdrop to anything less will be torture.  I have seen the best Sci Fi t.v. show ever.  I suppose it’s possible that something better will come along (alright inevitable), but I very much doubt that this show will ever be topped, and I am confident that it will be awhile before anyone does a better series.  Besides, I don’t want to see another cast.  BSG II came out hardly a decade ago.  The cast are all still active and healthy.  It feels like it would have if someone had tried to recast Star Trek in 1976 with a movie.  It was another decade after that before that crew made their last movie, and only the start of a sequel t.v. show finally allowed the public to move on.  That gives us another decade at least before we could be ready for another version of BSG.

And to be honest, Wagon Train to the Stars doesn’t hold a candle to the second version of Battlestar Galactica.  Nor do any of the Star Trek shows.

About Cian Beirdd

I live with my kitty, and encourage his tuna and catnip addictions. I have a website as well; https://cianbeirdd.wordpress.com/cian-beirdd/
This entry was posted in Sci Fi/Fantasy, Science Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BSG III?

  1. Loki says:

    Agreed. I actually really liked “Caprica”, too — not to the same extent, of course, but the second half of that show shed a lot of the issues it had in the beginning and got really, really good.

    • Cian Beirdd says:

      I can’t argue with that. I was very curious how they were going to transition the automatons into rebels and more curious about exactly how they would explain duplicating the Cylon model without duplicating the girl. And what was going to happen to the Adama girl? So many questions, I hope we don’t have to wait another thirty years to get answers.

      • Loki says:

        Between the potential (or is it a given thing now?) movie total reboot by Bryan Singer, the failures of every attempt at a prequel or spin-off in the TV world (Caprica and Blood & Chrome both) and creator Ronald D. Moore now having gotten two non-BSG shows renewed for their second seasons (Helix and Outlander) meaning he’s likely very busy without needing to return to BSG to rejuvinate his career, I’m afraid I don’t think you’re likely to ever get those answers. I suspect that continuity is unfortunately dead and gone. :\

      • Cian Beirdd says:

        I had no hopes of that. It’s rare that a show goes off the air that I was interested in and that left things open. I liked Farscape and Firefly, for instance, but when they were over I didn’t need their movies.

  2. Loki says:

    Oh, I misunderstood you then, I thought you said you were hoping it wouldn’t be thirty years before you got answers.

    I disagree on Firefly, I’m afraid — the unanswered questions on BSG were fairly minor in comparison to those on Firefly (though I agree that Caprica introduced some good new ones). The movie helped with the worst of that, though, and I think there was an immense need for it. Farscape I have alas yet to make time to check out, so there I cannot comment.

    • Cian Beirdd says:

      I badly expressed myself. In the 1970s the original series came out and it was almost thirty years before they rebooted and filled in some of the blanks. My thinking was that a reboot right now is just stupid, but I hope they don’t wait another thirty years either.

      With Firefly they hadn’t gotten me interested in the space crazies and they hadn’t given up enough interest up about the girl to make her anything more than a programmed killing machine, which I have seen too many times.

      Farscape was great for a lot of reasons, their big mistake was to put a a human into a predominantly alien universe. There wasn’t enough familiarity to keep a mainstream attention. Lots of fun, though, and some neat ideas about technology and species.

      • Loki says:

        Ahh, I understand now. Thanks for clearing that up!

        I don’t think her being a killing machine was what needed answering — that part was fairly obvious — nor did the Reavers need particular explaining, but rather the rippple effects of her showing up on the ship did. The show was all about the surrogate family the captain had created for himself on that ship, and how the introduction of the brother and sister to the crew upset that equilibrium. The show ended so fast and open ended that this was never given any kind of closure, but with the film, it did. So perhaps “answers” is the wrong term to use, but the film definitely felt necessary.

        I’ll definitely check out Farscape some day, but it’s a fairly large endeavour, so it keeps being postponed …

      • Cian Beirdd says:

        I admit, Serenity was satisfying.

        Yeah, Farscape is several seasons. It is no BSG, but it is a good watch. It has a character who is a plant, life on a living ship, Skeletor as the big bad.

      • Loki says:

        My wife has an odd preference where she enjoys a lot of science fiction, but has a grudge against anything with aliens. She’s also a big Muppet fan, though, so “Farscape” is he one alien-based science fiction show she’s fairly interested in seeing. The plan is therefore to check it out together one day, and I think it’s likely it’ll make it to the top of the list and actually get seen at some point, but alas, life provides one with only a finite amount of hours in a day. :\

Leave a Reply

