Life

I have a miniatures collection.  It consists of Star Wars Force wielders like Sith, Jedi, and the occasional independent.  I also have Marvel and DC comics figures; no minions just the heroes and villains themselves.  I plan to get some of the Tolkiens, too – dragons, wizards, and stuff like that. If they make miniatures for Dune, or Matrix, even Dark Angel, Buffy, or Highlander, I’ll probably grab them as well.  After all I’m a writer of fiction, and though my problem with any writing is the occasional run-on sentence, my biggest flaw in creating stories is describing characters.  I need them as a reminder that it’s more interesting to know what they look like.

My little universe is filled with concepts and characters no one has tried to build a book around.  Of course I have to keep to archetypes, there are only so many different personalities and roles a character can play, but the world I write about is new, unexpected, and hopefully thought-provoking.  When I think of all the people who created the great science fiction I envy their successes and hope to emulate their brilliance.  Those tiny figurines are always in my room for that.  DC invented comics, Stan Lee gave them depth, Tolkien created the first universe of extraordinary beings, with Lucas perfecting the work and Herbert, the Wachowskis, Cameron, and Widen have added their own neat tidbits.

When I write, I need to be alone.  Beethoven can be good for the concentration, or a medley of fun songs can help with a few ideas or to get me in a fun mood.  No people though – nobody I have to pay attention to while I’m trying to sync up characters, plot, and entertainment.  Well, people are good.  They can be comforting and nurturing; like little voices in my head pushing me on to something deeper or more intricate.  Miniatures are good for that.  They are my silent friends.

I also like them.  Each character has a story, and many have a plethora of tales about them.  To hold one in your hands is to somehow feel like you are a part of that story, and a part of the universe they are from.  I won’t ever be an actor in any movies about them, nor will I likely meet their creators.  In this small, insignificant way though I can be a part of them all.

When I sit in my study working, I have miniatures.  They are at my desk, on my bookshelves, all around really.  They watch me, without commenting.  They allow me to look over them, without shying away.  They represent something greater than themselves, without putting on airs, even though they are only made of plastic.  They comfort me, they nurture me.  To someone without a knowledge of the universes they come from, though, they are nothing more than little toys.

I suppose that just makes me a little kid coming up with excuses to have dolls in his room.

About Cian Beirdd

I live with my kitty, and encourage his tuna and catnip addictions. I have a website as well; https://cianbeirdd.wordpress.com/cian-beirdd/
This entry was posted in Comic book heroes, Frank Herbert, George Lucas, I.Q., J.R.R. Tolkien, Robert Howard, Sci Fi/Fantasy, Science Fiction, Stan Lee, Star Wars, The Force and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life

  1. As a fellow collector, I can properly say — hey, that is a really great collection!!!

  2. Cian Beirdd says:

    A few hundred. It has so many great uses, but the bottom line is I like them. Glad to see someone doesn’t think it’s sad.

    • I collect antique Chinese porcelain. Old (not antique) dolls. Native American fetishes. Wind chimes. Cast iron door stops. Books, movies, cameras and miscellaneous musical instruments. Who am I to look down my nose at someone else’s collection?

      • Cian Beirdd says:

        Very generous. I collect movies too, all the good stuff. Back to ‘Birth of a Nation’, with the great Japanese movies of Kurosawa, ‘The Day the Earth Stood Still’, Stephen Chow’s stuff, 1973 Three Musketeers. What do you watch?

      • Garry is more into the true classic movies than I am. He’s a big fan (and has an encyclopedic knowledge of) movies of the 1930s through 1950s. Actually he has the information nailed through the 1990s, but he prefers the “golden era” movies. I am not wildly fond of film noir (which Garry loves) or the madcap (stupid) comedy of the 1930s where rich people are featured being rich and dopey.

        I’m eclectic. I love anything with a really good, witty script. Casablanca, The Lion in Winter, The Americanization of Emily, Starman, the 1973-4 version of the Three and Four Musketeers, The Seventh Seal, The Last Action Hero — all make my top I-don’t-know-how-many list along with most of Mel Brooks’ comedies. Good science fiction of which there is not nearly enough. Forbidden Planet was my favorite movie when I was a kid. Yankee Doodle Dandy. Eclectic. Fortunately Garry has made a late life discovery of sci-fi and he has always loved anything involving time travel. Time After Time was the first movie he ever bought me, when we were courting. And westerns. A LOT of westerns. Shane, all things John Ford. Most think Blake Edwards, too. Robin and Marian. The Wind and the Lion. Tombstone. The Magnificent Seven (yes, I know it is Kurosawa reborn). And more. I think maybe we just really like movies 🙂

      • Cian Beirdd says:

        I am eclectic too, some foreign stuff is fun, Philadelphia from the 1930s, some of the crazy 1980s movies, The Hustler, The Sting, Cool Hand Luke, even Chaplin in small doses, but I can’t stand the stupid slapstick of the past or present either. I would much prefer the theaters being filled with Batman and Interstellar movies.

      • We go to all the superhero movies, but they seem to have forgotten to include a script in some of the recent entries.

      • Cian Beirdd says:

        Not impressed with Guardians, but anything involving Whedon or Nolan has been golden.

Leave a Reply

